This is taken from the EDS UK website:

Ehlers-Danlos syndrome (EDS) is a genetic disorder in which the structure of connective tissue is abnormal due to a gene mutation. This results in abnormally fragile and hyper-extensible tissues throughout the body which can lead to a range of multi-systemic symptoms; the effect on the body is widespread and not limited to one body system.

There are different types of the condition and a vast spectrum of symptoms are experienced by our community. Although many lead full and active lives, EDS can lead to physical disability and some rarer types can be life limiting. There is a lack of knowledge about EDS in the medical profession and it is therefore often misdiagnosed or overlooked. 


There are 7 different types of EDS, each with their own issues and complications:

  • Classical EDS
  • Hypermobility EDS (Type 3)
  • Vascular EDS
  • Arthrochalasia EDS
  • Dermatosparaxis EDS
  • Kyphoscoliotic EDS
  • Tenascin-X Deficient EDS


I have EDS Type 3. As with other types of EDS, Type 3 has a broad spectrum and is the most commonly diagnosed. My EDS, as with a lot of other sufferers comes with a lot of secondary conditions and complications. Some of these are common and others really aren’t. Some people have the severity of joint problems with EDS which can be debilitating but have no other secondary issues or complications, others can have life changing and life threatening complications.

Me? I sit somewhere in the middle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *